Clearing the Cache

Overview

Caching is used to increase the responsiveness of your website. If caching is activated, you should "clear the cache" after making significant changes. This is because the site cache may be displaying previously stored copies of your site.

If you notice that your page edits do not seem to show, in particular when you log out and view the site as an anonymous visitor, the caching system is very likely the culprit. In such cases, it's doing its job a little too well. Luckily, there's an easy fix: Clear the cache.

Directions

  1. Login using your administration account.
  2. Point your  browser to Administer > Site configuration > Performance
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the form and select, Clear Cached Data.

Note

If your account has access to the Admin Menu, there is a handy set of cache update links in the far left menu under the Drupal or Home icon. Depending on your site configuration and version, this menu may look slightly different from the following example, but in all cases the flush caching functions work in the same way.

More Information